Been a while….

It has been a rough couple of months for my boyfriend and I, we lost a friend of ours to cancer and we have been eating crap and haven’t been going to the gym. 

We go on a trip to London, England on October 12 so I want to try and get us back on track before we go. I have made up a meal plan for dinners up till a few days before we leave and I am going to blog my way through it to keep myself accountable. 

Neither of us are good with eating under stress and we are trying to figure out how to start coping better. We have vowed that once we return from London we will get back on track with both the gym and healthier eating. We also have a plan for while we are in London to not only not overspend on food but to also try and include some healthier options to take for lunches when we go out sightseeing. 

Tonight we decided to make a curried butternut squash and sweet potato soup and below are the central parts to the soup. We are now letting it simmer with coconut milk till we are ready to eat. It smells amazing in here. 

Curried Butternut Squash Soup

1 butternut squash

1 small sweet potato

1 yellow onion, chopped 

1 head of garlic, roasted with olive oil, salt and pepper.

Coconut oil

 1 can of Coconut milk

Mix of spices including garam masala, curry and chili powders, turmeric, cumin, coriander seeds, salt, pepper and cinnamon.

I started off by putting the butternut squash and sweet potato in the slow cooker on low for 8 hours (you could probably put it in for six and be fine). I then roasted some garlic with a small amount of olive oil, salt and pepper and put it in the blender with the squash, sweet potato and a small amount of coconut milk. 

For the onions, I mixed the spices and added it to the pot with coconut oil and let them cook down (the apartment smells amazing when I was frying up the spices and onion). I added them into the blender with everything else and put it back in the pot with the rest of the coconut milk and let it simmer for a while. 

I usually top the soup with a small amount of hot paprika.

Leave a Reply

